Shift Supervisors

Shift Supervisors
The Patrol Division is divided into 4 shifts, and each shift consists of 9 or 10 Officers including an Assistant Watch Commander (Sergeant) and a Watch Commander (Lieutenant). Each shift covers the 4 patrol zones within the city limits of Russellville.
Philip Varnell
Mike Stevens2
Keith Spears
Matt Jacobs

Phillip Varnell

Lieutenant, A Shift

Mike Stevens

Lieutenant, B Shift

Keith Spears

Lieutenant, C Shift

Matt Jacobs

Lieutenant, D Shift
Duties & Responsibilities
The Patrol Division is frequently referred to as the backbone of the Police Department. Officers of this division are the most familiar to the general public because they are responsible for the 24-hour task of responding to calls for:
  • Accident investigation
  • Apprehending criminals
  • Community interaction
  • Conducting preliminary criminal investigations
  • Preventing criminal activity
  • Service
  • Traffic enforcement